Malice Domestic announced the winners for the 2016 Agatha Awards as follows:

Best Contemporary Novel:
Burned Bridges, Annette Dashofy (Henery Press)
WINNER Long Upon the Land, Margaret Maron (Grand Central Publishing)
The Child Garden, Catriona McPherson (Midnight Ink)
Nature of the Beast, Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
What You See, Hank Phillipi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
Malice at the Palace, Rhys Bowen (Berkley)
The Masque of a Murderer, Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)
WINNER Dreaming Spies, Laurie R. King (Bantam)
Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante, Susan Elia Macneal (Bantam)
Murder on Amsterdam Avenue, Victoria Thompson (Berkley)

Best First Novel:
Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman, Tessa Arlen (Minotaur Books)
Macdeath, Cindy Brown (Henery Press)
Plantation Shudders, Ellen Byron (Crooked Lane Books)
Just Killing Time, Julianne Holmes (Berkley)
WINNER On the Road with Del and Louise, Art Taylor (Henery Press)

Best Nonfiction:
The Great Detective: The Amazing Rise and Immortal Life of Sherlock Holmes, Zack Dundas (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
WINNER The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story, Martin Edwards (HarperCollins)
A is for Arsenic: The Poisons of Agatha Christie, Kathryn Harkup (Bloomsbury USA)
Unsolved Murders and Disappearances in Northeast Ohio, Jane Ann Turzillo (Arcadia Publishing)
The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook: Wickedly Good Meals and Desserts to Die For, Kate White (Editor) (Quirk Books)

Best Short Story:
WINNER "A Year Without Santa Claus," by Barb Goffman (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, January/February 2015)
"A Questionable Death," by Edith Maxwell, History & Mystery, Oh My (edited by Sarah E. Glenn; Mystery & Horror, LLC)
"A Killing at the Beausoleil," by Terrie Farley Moran (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, November 2015)
"Suffer the Poor," by Harriette Sackler, History & Mystery, Oh My (edited by Sarah E. Glenn; Mystery & Horror, LLC)
"A Joy Forever," by B.K. Stevens (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, March 2015)

Best Children's/Young Adult:
Pieces and Players, Blue Balliett (Scholastic Press)
Need, Joelle Charbonneau (HMH Books for Young Readers)
WINNER Andi Unstoppable, Amanda Flower (Zonderkidz)
Woof, Spencer Quinn (Scholastic Press)
Fighting Chance: A Martial Arts Mystery, B.K. Stevens (Poisoned Pen Press)

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Katherine Hall Page
Poirot Award Recipients: Barbara Peters & Robert Rosenwald
Amelia Award Recipient: Douglas Greene

The winners were announced at the Agatha Awards banquet on April 30, 2016 during Malice Domestic 28 held in Bethesda, Maryland.