The Crime Writers of Canada has announced the winners for the 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards as follows:

Best Novel:
Kelley Armstrong, City of the Lost (Penguin Random House of Canada)
Michael Helm, After James (McClelland & Stewart)
Maureen Jennings, Dead Ground in Between (McClelland & Stewart)
Janet Kellough, Wishful Seeing (Dundurn Press)
WINNER Donna Morrissey, The Fortunate Brother (Viking Canada)

Best First Novel:
Ryan Aldred, Rum Luck (Five Star Publishing)
R.M.Greenaway, Cold Girl (Dundurn Press
Mark Lisac, Where the Bodies Lie (NeWest Press
Amy Stuart, Still Mine (Simon & Schuster Canada
WINNER Elle Wild, Strange Things Done (Dundurn Press

Best Novella (The Lou Allin Memorial Award):
WINNER Rick Blechta, Rundown (Orca Book Publishers)
Brenda Chapman, No Trace (Grass Roots Press)
Jas. R. Petrin, The Devil You Know (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, March 2016)
Linda L. Richards, When Blood Lies (Orca Book Publishers
Peter Robinson, The Village That Lost Its Head (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, September/October 2016)

Best Short Story:
Cathy Ace, Steve's Story, The Whole She-Bang 3 (Toronto Sisters in Crime)
WINNER Susan Daly, A Death at the Parsonage, The Whole She-Bang 3 (Toronto Sisters in Crime)
Elizabeth Hosang, Where There's a Will, The Whole She-Bang 3 (Toronto Sisters in Crime)
Scott Mackay, The Ascent (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, August 2016)
David Morrell, The Granite Kitchen (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, July 2016)

Best Book in French:
WINNER Marie-Eve Bourassa, Red Light: Adieu, Mignonne (Groupe Ville-Marie Litterature, vlb editions)
Chrystine Brouillet, Vrai ou faux (Editions Druide)
Guillaume Morrissette, Terreur domestique (Guy Saint-Jean Editeur)
Johanne Seymour, Rinzen et l'homme perdu (Libre Expression)
Richard Ste-Marie, Le Blues des sacrifies (Editions Alire)

Best Juvenile/YA Book:
WINNER Gordon Korman, Masterminds: Criminal Destiny (Harper Collins Publishers Ltd.)
Nora McClintock, Trial by Fire (Orca Book Publishers)
John Moss, The Girl in a Coma (The Poisoned Pencil-Poisoned Pen Press)
Caroline Pignat, Shooter (Tundra Books)
Eva Wiseman, Another Me (Tundra Books)

Best Nonfiction Book:
Christie Blatchford, Life Sentence: Stories from Four Decades of Court Reporting or, How I Fell Out of Love with the Canadian Justice System (Doubleday Canada)
Joe Friesen, The Ballad of Danny Wolfe: Life of a Modern Outlaw (Signal McClelland & Stewart)
WINNER Jeremy Grimaldi, A Daughter's Deadly Deception: The Jennifer Pan Story (Dundurn Press)
Debra Komar, Black River Road: An Unthinkable Crime, an Unlikely Suspect, and the Question of Character (Goose Lane)
Bobbi-Jean MacKinnon, Shadow of Doubt: The Trial of Dennis Oland (Goose Lane)

Unhanged Arthur (for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel):
Mary Fernando, An Absence of Empathy
WINNER S.J. Jennings, The Golkonda Project
Charlotte Morganti, Concrete Becomes Her
Ann Shortell, Celtic Knot
Mark Thomas, The Last Dragon

Derrick Murdoch Award recipient: Christina Jennings, founder, Chairman and CEO of Shaftesbury Films, which has produced moview and TV series based upon the works of several Canadian crime writers.

The winners were announced on May 25 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.