Reed Farrel Coleman Wins Shamus

The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced the winners for the 2017 Shamus Awards as follows:

The Eye Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Jerry Kennealy
Best Private Eye Novel: WHERE IT HURTS, by Reed Farrel Coleman (Putnam), featuring Gus Murphy
Best Original Private Eye Paperback: THE PERPLEXING THEFT OF THE JEWEL IN THE CROWN, by Vaseem Khan (Red Hook Books), featuring Baby Ganesh Agency
Best First Private Eye Novel: IQ, by Joe Ide (Little, Brown), introducing Isaiah Quintabe
Best Private Eye Short Story: "A Battlefield Reunion," by Brendan DuBois (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, June 2016), featuring Billy Sullivan

The winners were announced in the Fall issue of the PWA newsletter, since the PWA Shamus Award Banquet has been canceled. (September 21, 2017; revised, September 25)

Denise Mina Wins McIlvanney

On September 08, Bloody Scotland has announced that the winner of the 2017 Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize is THE LONG DROP, by Denise Mina (Random House) (September 09, 2017)

Adrian McKinty Wins Neddie

Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the winners for the 2017 Ned Kelly Awards as follows:

Best Fiction: POLICE AT THE STATION AND THEY DON'T LOOK FRIENDLY, by Adrian McKinty (Serpent's Tail)
Best First Fiction: THE DRY, by Jane Harper (Pan)
True Crime (tie): GETTING AWAY WITH MURDER, by Duncan McNab (Vintage) and
THE DROWNED MAN, by Brendan James Murray (Echo)
S.D. Harvey Short Story Award: "Rules to Live By," by Louise Bassett

The winners were announced on September 01 at the Melbourne Writers Festival in Melbourne. (September 03, 2017)