Stephen Mack Jones Wins Nero

The Wolfe Pack, a group of Nero Wolfe and Rex Stout fans, has announced that AUGUST SNOW, by Stephen Mack Jones (Soho)
won the the 2018 Nero Award. The winner was announced on December 01 at the Black Orchid Banquet held at Arno Ristrante in New York City. (December 03, 2018)

Steve Cavanagh Wins Gold Dagger

The Crime Writers Association of Britain (CWA) announced the winners for the 2018 CWA Dagger Awards on October 25 as follows:

Diamond Dagger Award Recepient: Michael Connelly
Red Herring Award Recipients (for outstanding work in support of the CWA):
Ali Karim, Ayo Onatade, David Stuart Davies, and Mike Stotter

Gold Dagger: THE LIAR, by Steve Cavanagh (Orion)
Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke (Serpent's Tail)
John Creasey New Blood Dagger: Lola, by Melissa Scrivner Love (Point Blank)
International Dagger: After the Fire, by Henning Mankell (Harvill Secker)
Historical Dagger: Nucleus, by Rory Clements (Zaffre)
Short Story Dagger: "Nemo Me Impune Lacessit," by Denise Mina (from Bloody Scotland)
Gold Dagger For Non-Fiction: Blood on the Page, by Thomas Harding (Heinemann)
Dagger in the Library: Martin Edwards
Debut Dager (for unpublished writers): The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon, by Bill Crotty

The winners were announced during the CWA Dagger Awards dinner in London on October 25 in London. (October 26, 2018)

McIlvanney Wins McIlvanney

The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival has announced that THE QUAKER, by Liam McIlvanney (HarperCollins) won the 2018 McIlvanney Prize, recognizing "excellence in Scottish crime writing." Incidentally, the winner is a son of the late William McIlvanney, after whom the prize has been named.

The winner was announced on September 21, during the opening reception of the Bloody Scotland held in Stirling, Scotland. (September 22, 2018)

Attica Locke Wins Anthony

Bouchercon 2018 has announced the winners for the 2018 Anthony Awards as follows:

Best Novel: BLUEBIRD, BLUEBIRD, by Attica Locke (Mulholland)
Best First Novel: HOLLYWOOD HOMICIDE, by Kellye Garrett (Midnight Ink)
Best Paperback Original: THE DAY I DIED, by Lori Rader-Day (Morrow)
Bill Crider Award for Best Novel in a Series: Y IS FOR YESTERDAY, by the late Sue Grafton (Putnam)
Best Anthology: THE OBAMA INHERITANCE, edited by Gary Phillips (Three Rooms Press)
Best Short Story: "My Side of the Matter," by Hilary Davidson (in Killing Malmom, edited by Dan and Kate Malmon; Down & Out)
Best Critical/Non-Fiction Book: KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON, by David Grann (Doubleday)
Best Online Content: Jungle Red Writers
Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Ian Rankin
David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award Recipient: Lesa Holstine

The winners were announced on September 08 during Bouchercon 2018 held in St. Petersburg, Florida. (September 09, 2018)

T. Jefferson Parker Wins Shamus

The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced the winners for the 2018 Shamus Awards as follows:

The Eye Lifetime Achievment Award Recipient: Walter Mosley
Best Private Eye Novel: THE ROOM OF WHITE FIRE, by T. Jefferson Parker (Putnam), featuring Roland Ford
Best First Private Eye Novel: THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK, by Kristen Lepionka (Minotaur), introducing Roxane Weary
Best Original Private Eye Paperback: LIGHTS OUT SUMMER, by Rich Zahradnik (Camel Press), featuring Coleridge Taylor
Best P.I. Short Story: "Rosalie Marx Is Missing," by the late Robert S. Levinson (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, May/June 2017), featuring Vincent Riverbend

The winners were announced on September 07 at the 2018 Shamus Award Banquet at the Zamora Hotel in St. Petersburg, Florida. (September 09, 2018; Revised, 0ctober 09)

Anthony Horowitz Wins Macavity

The Mystery Readers International has announced the winners for the 2018 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Mystery Novel: MAGPIE MURDERS, by Anthony Horowitz (Harper)
Best First Mystery Novel: THE LOST ONES, by Sheena Kamal (Morrow)
Best Mystery-Related Nonfiction: THE STORY OF CLASSIC CRIME IN 100 BOOKS, by Martin Edwards (Poisoned Pen/British Library)
Best Mystery Short Story: "Windward," by Paul D. Marks (in COAST TO COAST, edited by Andrew McAleer & Paul D. Marks; Down & Out Books)
Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery Novel: IN FARLEIGH FIELD, by Rhys Bowen (Lake Union Publishing)

The winners were announced at the Bouchercon opening ceremonies on September 6 in St. Petersburg, Florida. (September 07, 2018)

Karen Dionne Wins Barry

Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine has announced the winners for the 2018 Barry Awards as follows:

Best Novel: THE MARSH KING'S DAUGHTER, by Karen Dionne (Putnam)
Best First Novel: THE DRY, by Jane Harper (Flatiron)
Best Paperback Original: THE DEEP DARK DESCENDING, by Allen Eskens (Seventh Street)
Best Thriller; UNSUB, by Meg Gardiner (Dutton)

The winners were announced on September 6 at the Bouchercon 2018 Opening Ceremony held in St. Petersburg, Florida. (September 07, 2018)

Gentill, Bailey Win Neddies

Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) ha announced the winners for the 2018 Ned Kelly (Neddie) Award as follows:

Best Crime Novel: CROSSING THE LINES, by Sulari Gentill (Pantera)
Best First Crime Novel: THE DARK LAKE, by Sarah Bailey (Allen & Unwin)
Best True Crime: UNMAKING A MURDER, by Graham Archer (Ebury)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Garry Disher

The winners were announced at the Melbourne Writers Festival on August 26. (September 01, 2018)