The Mystery Readers International has announced the nominees for the 2017 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Novel:
You Will Know Me, by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown)
Dark Fissures, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview)
Before the Fall, by Noah Hawley (UK, Hodder & Stoughton; US, Grand Central)
Real Tigers, by Mick Herron (UK, John Murray; US, Soho)
Wilde Lake, by Laura Lippman (Morrow)
A Great Reckoning, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Best First Novel:
The Widow, by Fiona Barton (UK, Bantam; US, NAL)
Under the Harrow, by Flynn Berry (Penguin)
Dodgers, by Bill Beverly (No Exit Press)
IQ, by Joe Ide (Mulholland)
Design for Dying, by Renee Patrick (Forge)

Best Short Story:
"Autumn at the Automat," by Lawrence Block (In Sunlight or in Shadow, edited by Lawrence Block; Pegasus Books)
"Blank Shot," by Craig Faustus Buck (Black Coffee, edited by Amdrew MacRae; Darkhouse Books)
"Survivor's Guilt," by Greg Herren (Blood on the Bayou: Bouchercon Anthology 2016, edited by Greg Herron; Down &Out Books)
"Ghosts of Bunker Hill," by Paul D. Marks (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, December 2016)
"The Crawl Space," by Joyce Carol Oates (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, September-October 2016)
"Parallel Play," by Art Taylor (Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning, edited by Donna Andrews, Barb Goffman & Marcia Talley; Wildside Press)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Novel:
A Death Along the River Fleet, by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur)
Jane Steele, by Lyndsay Faye (UK: Headline Review; US, Putnam)
Delivering The Truth, by Edith Maxwell (Midnight Ink)
The Reek of Red Herrings, by Catriona McPherson (US: Minotaur; UK: Houghton & Stodder)
What Gold Buys, by Ann Parker (Poisoned Pen Press)
Heart of Stone, by James W. Ziskin (Seventh Street Books)

Best Nonfiction:
Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories that Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats, by Jane K. Cleland (Writer's Digest Books)
Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life, by Ruth Franklin (Liveright Publishing)
Sara Paretsky: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction, Margaret Kinsman (McFarland)
Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula, by David J. Skal (Liveright Publishing)
The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer, by Kate Summerscale (Penguin)

The winners will be announced on October 12 at opening ceremonies during Bouchercon 2017 to be held in Toronto, Canada.