CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in November/December 2012

Ed Kaufman Dies

Ed Kaufman died peacefully on December 20. The former acquisitions lawyer opened M isfor Mystery bookstore in San Meteo, California in 1996 and it became the "community center" for mystery readers and writers in the Bay Area. But it sadly closed on December 24, 2011. He received the 2012 Raven Award from the Mystery Writers of America. He was 82. (December 25, 2012)

Addendum -- He died from complicationws of kidney disease at the Veterans Administration Hospital in Palo Alto. (December 28, 2012

Maxine Clarke Dies

Maxine Clarke died on December 17 in London after a long illness. The Nature magazine editor was also a frequent mystery conventioneer and the book-review blogger of Petrona. (December 19, 2012)

Kevin O'Donnell, Jr. Dies

Kevin O'Donnell, Jr. died of conplications from cancer on November 7 in Campbell, California. He was mainly an sf writer and wrote 10 sf novels and more than 50 stories including three stories published in Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine in 1975: "Alternate," "Hear No Evil," and "Time Waits for No Man." He was 61. (December 04, 2012)

Sol Weinstein Dies

Sol Weinstein died of pacreatic cancer on November 25 in Wellington, New Zealand. He was a prolific comedy writer who penned episodes of "The Jeffersons," "Three's Company," "The Love Boat," "Maud," "Chico and the Man," and "Small Wonder" among others, and also composed Bobby Darin's curtain song, "The Curtain Falls" (a very touching number) in 1961. During the 1960's he authored four spy novels spoofing James Bond, featuring Israel Bond, Oy-Oy-7, starting with LOXFINGER (Pocket Books, 1965) and ending with YOU ONLY LIVE UNTIL YOU DIE (Trident, 1968; these four books are now available in e-book format). He ws 84. (December 04, 2012)

Follett, Maron to Be Grand Masters

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced the recipients of the 2013 Grand Master, Raven and Ellery Queen Awards as follows:

Grand Master Awards: Ken Follett and Margaret Maron
Raven Awards: The Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore in San Diego and Redondo Beach, California
and Oline Cogdill, the mystery columnist for the South Florida Sun-Sentinel
Ellery Queen Award: Johnny Temple, founder and editor of Akashic Books, publishing house of the City Noir Series

These awards will be presented at the Edgar Awards Banquet to be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on May 2, 2013. (December 04, 2012)

Dana Stabenow Wins Nero

The Wolfe Pack announced at the annual Black Orchid Banquet on December 1 that Dana Stabenow (Minotaur) won the 2012 Nero Award for THOUGH NOT DEAD (Minotaur). And "Red Envelope" by Robert Lopresti won the 2012 Black Orchid Novella Award to be published in the July/August 2013 issue of Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine. (December 03, 2012)

Charles E. Fritch Dies

It was just found out that Charles E. Fritch died on October 11 in North Hollywood, California. He started his writing-editing career with his first sf story, "The Wallpaper," published in the March 1951 issue of Other Worlds. He mostly wrote science fiction stories, and edited Gamma from 1963 to 1965. He wrote two private eye novels featuring Mark Wonder: NEGATIVE OF A NUDE (Ace, 1959; rewritten as STRIP FOR MURDER [Kozy Books, 1960] under the Eric Thomas pseudonym) and PSYCHO SINNER (Athena, 1961; under the Thomas pseudonym). He became the editor of Mike Shayne Mystery Magazine from 1979 to 1985, when the August issue was the last one. He also contributed stories for MSMM under the Chester H. Carlfi byline. One of the MSMM stories, "The Complete History of Mankind After World War III" (November 1980) was "unforgettable." The page space under the long title was blank. He was 85. (December 02, 2012)

Margaret Yorke Dies

Margaret Yorke died peacefully on November 17 in Long Crendon, Buckinghamshire, UK. The ex-hospital librarian's first novel was SUMMER FLIGHT (Hale, 1957) and she created an Oxford don sleuth Patrick Grant, who first appeared in DEAD IN THE MORNING (Bles, 1970). Grant's fifth and last novel was CAST FOR DEATH (Hutchinson, 1976) and he also appeared in a short story, "Greek Tragedy," included in her short story collection, PIECES OF JUSTICE (Warner UK, 1994). Yorke was Chairperson of the Crime Writers Assoication in 1979-1980, and she received the CWA Diamond Dagger in 1999. She wrote more than 40 novels and her last novel was CAUSE FOR CONCERN (Little Brown UK, 2001). She was 88. (November 21, 2012)

Lawrence Block Receives David Goodis Award

Lawrence Block received the 2012 David Goodis Award at NoirCon 2012 held in Philadelphia, Pennsilvania in November. At the same ceremony, Otto Penzler received the 2012 Jay & Deen Kogan Award for Literay Excellence. (November 21, 2012)