CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in July/August 2013

CWA Dagger Award Shortlists (Part Two) Announced

The Crime Writers' Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the three shortlists of nominees for the last three Dagger Awards as follows:

CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger:
RUBBERNECKER, by Belinda Bauer (Bantam/Transworld)
THE SHINING GIRLS, by Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
DEAD LIONS, by Mick Herro (Soho Crime)
RAGE AGAINST THE DYING, by Becky Masterman (Orion)

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger:
GHOSTMAN, by Roger Hobbs (Transworld)
RATLINES, by Stuart Neville (Random House)
THE SENTINEL, by Mark Oldfield (Head of Zeus)
CAPITAL PUNISHMENT, by Robert Wilson (Orion)

CWA John Creasey Dagger:
SOMETHING YOU ARE, by Hanna Jameson (Head of Zeus)
NORWEGIAN BY NIGHT, by Derek B Miller (Faber and Faber)
SHADOW OF THE ROCK, by Thomas Mogford (Bloomsbury)

The winners will be announced on October 24 at the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2013. (August 29, 2013)

Elmore Leonard Dies

Elmore Leonard died from complications of a stroke on August 20 at his home in Bloomfield Township, Michigan. He started his writing career with pulp Western stories while working as an ad copywriter. His first novel, THE BOUNTY HUNTERS (Houghton Mifflin, 1953), is a Western. When Western novels are not selling well, he turned to crime writing with THE BIG BOUNCE (Bantam, 1969), but he was actually writing Westerns set in urban cities such as Detroit and Miami. Movies based on his novels include "Hombre" (starring Paul Newman in 1967), "Get Shorty" (starring John Travolta in 1995), "Jackie Brown" (based on RUM PUNCH, and starring Pam Grier in 1997), OUT OF SIGHT (starring George Clooney in 1998) and "Life of Crime" (based on THE SWITCH, and starring Jennifer Aniston in 2013). He won the Edgar Award for LABRAVA (Arbor, 1983) in 1984 and received the MWA Grand Master Award in 1992 and the National Book Award Medal in 2012. He was 87. (August 25, 2013)

Elizabeth Peters Dies

Elizabeth Peters died peacefully after a long battle with cancer at home in Frederick, Maryland on August 08. She had a Ph. D in Egyptology from University of Chicago. She wrote two non-fiction books on Egypt under her real name Barbara Mertz in the late 1960's before writing "gothics" (which she had liked to call "romantic suspense stories"), starting THE MASTER OF BLACKTOWER (Appleton, 1966) under the Barbara Michaels pseudonym. Under the Michaels pen-name, she wrote 29 supsensers including AMMIE, COME HOME (Meredith, 1968), the first Georgetown House trilogy. Peters may be most famous as the author of Amelia Peabody (Victorian feminist archaeologist) series starting with CROCODILE ON THE SANDBANK (Dodd Mead, 1975). She had two other series: one featuring Jacqueline Kirby (librarian turned romance writer) starting THE SEVENTH SINNER (Dodd Mead, 1972); another featuring Vicky Bliss (art historian) starting BORROW OF THE NIGHT (Dodd Mead, 1973). She won an Agatha award for NAKED ONCE MORE (Warner 1989), a Kirby novel. She received a Grand Master Award from Mystery Writers of America in 1998. She was 85. (August 12, 2013)

Leighton Gage Dies

Leighton Gage died from pancreatic cancer on July 26 at his home in Ocala, Florida, according to his daughter. The ex-advertising executive started writing mystery novels featuring Brazilian Police Inspector Mario Silva after staying long in Brazil, starting BLOOD OF THE WICKED (Soho Crime, 2007). His last and seventh Mario Silva novel, THE WAYS OF EVIL MEN, will be out next January from Soho Crime. He was 71. (July 27, 2013; Revised: July 31, 2013)

Dianne Day Dies

Dianne Day died on July 11 in Eureka, California after a long illness. The ex-psychologist wrote first romantic suspence novels such as OBSIDIAN (Pocket Book, 1987), UNDER VENICE (Harlequin, 1991; as by Madelyn Sanders), and EYES OF THE NIGHT (Berkley, 1992; as by Diana Bane). Her first "real" mystery novel is THE STRANGE FILES OF FREMONT JONES (Doubleday, 1995), featuring Femont Jones, owner of a typewriter service in the 1900's in San Francisco. She wrote six Jones novels finishing with BEACON STREET MOURNING (Doubleday, 2000). She also wrote a stand-alone, CUT TO THE HEART (Doubleday, 2002) under the Ava Dianne Day name. She was active on several mystery mailing lists, and reviewed mystery novels for Mystery Scene. She was 75. (July 18, 2013)

Addendum -- She died from complications of rheumatoid arthritis and congestive heart failure. (July 31, 2013)

Lemaitre, Vargas Share Int'l Dagger

The Crime Writers' Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the winners for the first batch of 2013 CWA Dagger Awards as follows:

International Dagger (TIE): ALEX, by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne (Quercus); and THE GHOST RIDERS OF ORDEBEC, by Fred Vargas, translated by Sian Reynolds (Harvill Secker)
Non-Fiction Dagger: MIDNIGHT IN PEKING, by Paul French (Penguin Viking)
Ellis Peters Historical Dagger: THE SCENT OF DEATH, by Andrew Taylor (HarperCollins)
Short Story Dagger: "Come Away with Me," by Stella Duffy (THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF BEST BRITISH CRIME 10, edited by Maxim Jakubowski; Constable)
Dagger in the Library: Belinda Bauer
Debut Dagger: CALL TIME, by Finn Clarke (UK)
Diamond Dagger Recipient: Lee Child

The winners were announced on July 15 in London. (July 16, 2013)

Brian Freeman Wins Thriller Award

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) has announced the winners for the 2013 Thriller Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover Novel: SPILLED BLOOD, by Brian Freeman (SilverOak)
Best First Novel: THE 500, by Matthew Quirk (Reagan Arthur)
Best Paperback Original Novel: LAKE COUNTRY, by Sean Doolittle (Bantam)
Best Short Story: "Lost Things," by John Rector (Kindle Single, Thomas & Mercer)
Best Young Adult Novel: FALSE MEMORY, by Dan Krokos (Hyperion Books)
Best E-Book Original Novel: BLIND FAITH, by CJ Lyons (CJ Lyons)

2013 ThrillerMaster: Anne Rice
2013 Literary Silver Bullet Award: Steve Berry
2013 Corporate Silver Bullet Award: USO

The winners were announced on July 13, 2013 during ThrillerFest VIII held at the Grand Hyatt in New York City. (July 14, 2013)

William Landay Wins Strand Critics

The Strand Magazine has announced the winners for the 2013 Strand Critics Awards as follows:

Best Novel: DEFENDING JACOB, by William Landay (Delacorte Press)
Best Debut Novel: THE 500, by Matthew Quirk (Hachette)
Lifetime Achievment Award: Faye Kellerman

The winners were announced on July 10 in New York City. (July 11, 2013)

Macavity Award Nominees Announced

The Mystery Readers International/Mystery Readers Journal has announced the nominees for the 2013 Macavity Award. The nominees in the best mystery novel category are as follows:

GONE GIRL, by Gillian Flynn (Crown) 
THE BLACK HOUSE, by Peter May (Silver Oak) 
THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY, by Louise Penny (Minotaur) 
THE OTHER WOMAN, by Hank Philippi Ryan (Forge) 
THE ART FORGER, by B.A. Shapiro (Algonquin Books) 
THE TWENTY YEAR DEATH, by Ariel S. Winter (Hard Case Crime) 

To see the nominees in all the categories, click here. The winners will be announced at Bouchercon to be held this September in Albany, New York. (July 04, 2013