CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in July/August 2016

Neddie, Davitt Awards Winners

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the winners for the 2016 Ned Kelly Awards as follows:

Best Fiction: BEFORE IT BREAKS, by Dave Warner (Freemantle Press)
Best First Fiction: RESURRECTION BAY, by Emma Viskic (Echo)
Best True Crime: CERTAIN ADMISSIONS, by Gideon Haigh (Penguin Random)
S.D. Harvey Award for Short Stories: "Flesh," by Roni O'Brien
Lifetime Achievement: Carmel Shute

And Sisters in Crime Australia has announced the winners for the 2016 Davitt Awards as follows:

Best Adult Novel: RESURRECTION BAY, by Emma Viskic (Echo)
Best Young Adult Novel: RISK, by Fleur Ferris (Panguin Random)
Best Children's Novel: FRIDAY BARNES 2: UNDER SUSPICION, by R.A. Spratt (Penguin Random)
Best Non-fiction: WILD MAN, by Alecia Simmonds (Affirm Press)
Best Debut: RESURRECTION BAY, by Emma Viskic (Echo)

(August 31, 2016)

Barbara Leavy Dies

Barbara Fass Leavy died peacefully on August 14 after a long battle with cancer. The retired professor of English at Queens College/City University of New York wrote many mystery essays as well as one critical book, THE FICTION OF RUTH RENDELL (BookSurge, 2010; revised Poisoned Pen Press, 2012). As the wife of Cabaret Scenes Magazine Publisher Peter Leavy, she contributed a number of articles for the magazine. She was 80. (August 22, 2016)

Jack Davis Dies

Jack Davis died on July 27 from complications of a stroke in St. Simons Island, Georgia. He was mostly famous as the cover artist of MAD Magazine, but he also drew cover illustrations for Time and TV Guide as well as posters for movies like "It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World," "The Long Goodbye" (1973; starring Elliott Gould as Philip Marlowe, directed by Robert Altman, based on the novel by Raymond Chandler), "The Bank Shot" (1974; starring George C. Scott as John Dortmunder, based on the novel by Donald E. Westlake) among others. He was 91. (July 29, 2016)

CWA Dagger Shortlists Announced

The Crime Writers' Association of Britain (CWA) announced the its 2016 Dagger Award shortlists on July 28. The shortlistees in the Goldsboro Gold Dagger category is as follows:

DODGERS, by Bill Beverly (No Exit Press)
BLACK WIDOW, by Christopher Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
REAL TIGERS, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
BLOOD SALT WATER, by Denise Mina (Orion)

Peter James will receive the 2016 Diamond Dagger. To see the shortlists in all the categories, click here. The winners of all nine Dagger Awards will be announced on October 11 in London. (July 29, 2016)

Clare Mackintosh Wins Old Peculier

Clare Mackintosh won the 2016 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for I LET YOU GO (Sphere) at the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival in the UK. And Val McDermid won the 2016 Theakston Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. (July 22, 2016)

Paretsky to Receive Pinckley

Sara Paretsky will receive the 2016 Pinckley Prize for Crime Fiction for "Distinguished body of Work" from the Women's National Book Association of New Orleans, of which Diana Pinckley was a founding member. Pinckley was a longtime crime fiction columnist for The New Orleans times-Picayune.

And Christine Carbo will receive the 2016 Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel for THE WILD INSIDE (Atria Press, 2015). The prizes will presented on September 17 at the Louisiana Humanities Center. (July 22, 2016)

Attica Locke Wins Harper Lee

The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal has announced that Attica Locke will receive the 2016 Harper Lee Prize for PLEASANTVILLE (HarperCollins, 2015) as the best legal fiction "that best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change. She will receive the prize on September 22 at the Libray of Congress's Thomas Jeeferson Building in Washington, D. C. during the National Book Festival. (July 15, 2016)

Sally Beauman Dies

Sally Beauman died in her sleep at a hospital in London on July 07, NOT on July 11. The former investigative jounalist wrote romance novels for Harlequin Pulishing under the Vanessa James pseudonym before hitting big with DESTINY (Bantam Press UK, 1987), a "bonkbuster" full of sex, romance and heartbreak. Her second novel, DARK ANGEL (Bantam, 1990), dealt with child abuse in the 1900's. Then she authored the Gini Hunter-Pascal Larmartine romantic thriller triology (LOVERS AND LIARS; DANGER ZONES; and SEXTET, all from Bantam). REBECCA'S TALE (Little Brown UK, 2001) is a sequel to REBECCA by Daphne du Maurier. Her last novel was THE VISITORS (Little Brown, 2014), a historical mystery set in Egypt in the 1920'swhen Tutankhamun's tomb was discovered. She was 71. (July 13, 2016; corrected, July 19)

Ian Caldwell Wins Thriller

The International Thriller Writers announced the winners for the 2016 Thriller Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover Novel: THE FIFTH GOSPEL, by Ian Caldwell (Simon & Schuster)
Best First Novel: BULL MOUNTAIN, by Brian Panowich (Putnam)
Best Paperback Original: AGAINST ALL ENEMIES, by John Gilstrap (Pinnacle)
Best Short Story: "Gun Accident: An Investigation," by Joyce Carol Oates (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, July 2015)
Best Young Adult Novel: PRETENDING TO BE ERICA, by Michelle Painchaud (Viking)
Best E-Book Original: THE PRISONER'S GOLD, by Chris Kuzneski (Chris Kuzneski)
2016 ThrillerMaster Award Recipient: Heather Graham
2016 Silver Bullet Award Recipietn: John Lescroart

The winners were announced on July 9 during ThrillerFest XI t at the Grand Hyatt in New York City. (July 10, 2016)

Richard Price Wins Strand Critics

The Strand Magazine announced the winners for the 2016 Strand Magaizne Critics Awards on July 06 in New York as follows:

Best Novel: THE WHITES, by Richard Price writing as Harry Brandt (Henry Holt)
Best First Novel: PAST CRIMES, by Glen Erik Hamilton (HarperCollins)
Lifetime Achievment Award Recipients: Colin Dexter and Jeffery Deaver

(July 07, 2016)

Don Winslow Wins Falcon

Don Winslow won the 2016 Falcon Award from The Maltese Falcon Society Japan for MISSING: NEW YORK (2014, no American or British editions published) as the best hardboiled/private eye novel published in Japan in the previous year. This is Winslow's fourth Falcon win, after A COOL BREEZE ON THE UNDERGROUND; THE POWER OF THE DOG; and THE WINTER OF FRANKIE MACHINE. (July 03, 2016)