CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in July/August 2018

Mia Manansala Wins ETBland Award

Sisters in Crime (SinC) has announced that Mia P. Manansala won the 2018 Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award, which recognizes and benefits an emerging writer of color -- both men and women -- in the crime fiction genre. Her unpublished debut novel, tentatively entitled DEATH COMES TO COMIKON, would feature Filipina-American amateur detective Sunshine Salinas. (August 03, 2018)

C.E. Tobisman Wins Harper Lee

The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal have announced that PROOF, by C.E. Tobisman (Thomas & Mercer, 2017) won the 2018 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. Tobisman will be awarded with a signed special edition of TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD at the prize ceremony during the Library of Congress National Book Festival in Washington, D.C. on September 01. (July 26, 2018)

CWA Dagger Shortlists Announced

The Crime Writers Association of Britain (CWA) announced the shortlists for the 2018 CWA Dagger Awards on July 25. The Gold Dagger shortlist is as follows:

THE LIAR, by Steve Cavanagh (Orion)
LONDON RULES, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
SINCE WE FELL, by Dennis Lehane (Little, Brown)
BLUEBIRD, BLUEBIRD, by Attica Locke (Serpent's Tail)
A NECESSARY EVIL, by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)
RESURRECTION BAY, by Emma Viskic (Pushkin Vertigo)

To see the other Dagger shortlists, click here. The winners will be announced during the CWA Dagger Awards dinner in London on October 25 in London. (July 26, 2018)

Stav Sherez Wins Theakston Crime Novel

Stav Sherez won the 2018 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for THE INTRUSIONS (Faber & Faber, 2017) on July 19 at the Theakston Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, England, while John Grisham won the Theakston Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. (July 20, 2018)

Jessica Mann Dies (Revised)

Jessica Mann died on July 10 in Truro, Cornwall, England after a long struggle with Parkinson's disease. She studied archaeology at Cambridge and law at the University of Leicester. Her first novel was A CHARITABLE END (Collins, 1971), a one-off. She created three series characters, and the first one was Thea Crawford, an archaeology professor in England, who appeared in THE ONLY SECURITY (1973) and CAPTIVE AUDIENCE (1975; both from Macmillan UK). Tamara Hoyland, a British secret agent and archeaologist as well as protege of Crawford, first appeared in FUNERAL SITES (Macmillan UK, 1982), while Dr. Fidelis Berlin, a child psychiatrist, first appeared in A PRIVATE INQUIRY (Constable, 1996), a Gold Dagger shortlistee, as a minor character, and made her subsequent appearances in UNDER A DARK SUN (2000); THE VOICE FROM THE GRAVEL (2002, both from Constable); and DEAD WOMAN WALKING (Cronovia Press, 2013). Her last novel was THE STROKE OF DEATH (Robert Hale, 2016), featuring Tamara Hoyland. She was 80. (July 13, 2018; revised, July 20)

Ellen Hart, Marcie Rendon to Receive Pinckley Prizes

Ellen Hart and Marcie Rendon will receive the 2018 Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction, named to honor the memory of Diana Pinckley, The Women's National Book Association of New Orleans (WNBA-NO), of which Pinckley was a founding member, has announced.

Ellen Hart is the recipient for the Pinckley Prize for Distinguished Body of Work, while Marcie R. Rendon for the Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel for her first fiction book, MURDER ON THE RED RIVER (Cinco Puntos Press, 2017). The prizes will be presented on October 06 in New Orleans, Louisiana. (July 16, 2018)

Riley Sager Wins Thriller

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) has announced the winners for the 2018 Thriller Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover Novel: FINAL GIRLS, by Riley Sager (Dutton)
Best First Novel: THE FREEDOM BROKER, by K.J. Howe (Quercus)
Best Paperback Original Novel: GRIEVANCE, by Christine Bell (Lake Union)
Best Short Story: "Charcoal and Cherry," by Zoe Z. Dean (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, May/June 2017)
Best Young Adult Novel: THE RAINS, by Gregg Hurwitz (Tor Teen)
Best E-Book Original Novel: SECOND CHANCE, by Sean Black (Sean Black)
2018 Thriller Master: George R.R. Martin
2018 Silver Bullet Award: James Rollins
2018 Thriller Legends Award: Bob and Pat Gussin (of Oceanview Publishing)

The winners were announced on July 14 during ThrillerFest XIII at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. (July 15, 2018)

Stephen Mack Jones Wins Hammett

The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers (IACW/NA) has announced that AUGUST SNOW, by Stephen Mack Jones (Soho Crime) won the 2018 Hammett Prize.

To see the press release, click here. The winner was announced on July 13 at the Algonquin Hotel in New York, NY. (July 14, 2018)

Ivy Pochoda, Sheena Kamal Win Strand Critics

The Strand Magazine has announced the winners for the 2018 Strand Critics Awards as follows:

Best Novel: WONDER VALLEY, by Ivy Pochoda (Ecco)
Best First Novel: THE LOST ONES, by Sheena Kamal (Morrow)
Lifetime Achievemant Awards: Jonathan Gash (aka. John Grant) and J.A. Jance
Publisher of the Year Award: Tom Doherty, publisher of Tor/Forge Books

The winners were announced on July 11 during a Strand Magazine-hosted cocktail party in New York City. (July 12, 2018)

Lesa Holstine to Receive David Thompson Award

The Bouchercon Board of Directors has announced that Lesa Holstine will receive the 2018 David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award for her contributions to the mystery community. She is a librarian, book reviewer for Mystery Readers Journal and Library Journal, and the blogger of Lesa's Book Critiques among others. The award will be presented during the Anthony Awards ceremony on September 08 at Bouchercon to be held in St. Petersburg, Florida. (July 06, 2018)

Robert Crais Wins Maltese Falcon

The Maltese Falcon Society Japan has announced that THE PROMISE, by Robert Crais (Putnam, 2015) won the 2018 Maltese Falcon Award as the best hardboiled/private eye novel published in the previous year in Japan. The winning Elvis Cole-Joe Pike novel also features Scott James and his K-9 partner Maggie from SUSPECT (2013). (July 02, 2018)