CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in July/August 2022

S.J. Rozan Wins Shamus

The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced the winners for its 2022 Shamus Awards as follows:

P.I. Hardcover: FAMILY BUSINESS, by S.J. Rozan (Pegasus), featuring Lydia Chin & Bill Smith
Original P.I. Paperback: EVERY CITY IS EVERY OTHER CITY, by John McFetridge (ECW Press), featuring Gord Stewart
First P.I. Novel: LOST LITTLE GIRL, by Gregory Stout (Level Best), introducing Jackson Gamble
P.I. Short Story: "Sweeps Week," by Richard Helms (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, July/August 2021)

The winners were announced on August 04 online. (August 04, 2022)

Stuart Woods Dies

Stuart Woods died in his sleep on July 22 at his home in Litchfield County, Connecticut. The former advertising man's first book, BLUE WATER, GREEN SKIPPER (Norton, 1977), was not a novel, but a non-fiction book about the 1976 adventure in the Observer Single-handed Trans-Atlantic Race. His third book was a novel, entitled CHIEFS (Norton, 1981), about three genaration of lawmen and the murder of a teenager in a small town in Georgia, which won the 1982 Edgar Award in the first novel categtory, and was made into the TV miniseries starring Charlton Heston, and Danny Glover among others. He wrote about five books a year singularly or collaboratively with several series characters. NEW YORK DEAD (Harper & Row, 1991) is the first novel featuring Stone Barrington, an ex-cop and attorney in New York City. His 62nd Barrington book, BLACK DOG, will be release in August, the 63rd book in the Barrington series, DISTANT THUNDER (both from Putnam) in October, the 64th Barrington book (untitled yet) next year. He was 84. (August 01, 2022)

2022 MRI Macavity Award Nominees Announced

The Mystery Readers International (MRI) has announced the nominees for the 2021 Macavity Awards. The six nominees in the best mystery novel category are as follows:

THE DARK HOURS, by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown and Co.)
RAZORBLADE TEARS, by S. A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)
1979, by Val McDermid (Atlantic Monthly)
WE BEGIN AT THE END, by Chris Whitaker (Henry Holt)
HARLEM SHUFFLE, by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

To see the nominees in all the categories, click here. The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies on Thursday, September 08 at Bouchercon to be held in Minneapolis, MInnesota. (July 26, 2022)

In Memoriam

Better late than never.

Susie Steiner died of sepsis and a brain tumor on July 02 in London, England. The former journalist for several newspapers sold her first novel, HOMECOMING (Faber & Faber, 2013), a non-mystery leterary saga, before registered legally blind because of retinitis pigmentosa. Then she wrote MISSING PRESUMED (Borough Press, 2016), a mystery novel introducing Manon Bradshaw, a detective detective sergeant in cambridgeshire, England. Bradshaw's private life is as messy as her investigating cases. The first Bradshaw novel became a bestseller and was nominated for the 2017 Barry Award for best first novel. She penned two sequals: PERSONS UNKNOWN (2017) and REMAIN SILENT (2020). She was 51.

Frederick Nolan died of natural causes on June 15 in Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire, England. The former publicity executive for Penguin Books and Ballantine Books was very interested in the American old west and American musicals and wrote a couple of books on The Lincoln County War and Billy the Kid as well Richard Rogers, Oscar Hammerstein and Lorenz Hart. He also penned western novels under the Daniel Rockfern penname. His first thriller THE OSHAWA PROJECT (Barker, 1974; published in the US as THE ALGONQUIN PROJECT,@Morrow, 1974) was turned into the 1978 film "Brass Target" starring John Cassavetes and Sophia Loren even though there is no leading woman in the original novel about a plot to assassinate the US general George Patton. He also authored the four spy novels published under the pseudonym of Donald Severn in the US, featuring Her Majesty's Secret Service agent Charles Garrett, including ALERT STATE BLACK (Lynx, 1989). He was 91.

(July 25,2022)

Mick Herron Wins Theakston Crime

Harrogate International Festival announced that SLOUGH HOUSE, by Mick Herron (John Murray) is the winner for the 2022 Theakston Crime Award for best crime novel of the year published in paperback from May 01, 2021 to April 30, 2022 by UK and Irish authors.

And Michael Connelly received The Theakston Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award 2022 in recognition of his incredible writing career.

The winner were announced on the opening night of Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, England on Thursday, July 21. (June 22, 2022)

Strand Critics Award Nominees Announced

The Strand Magazine has announced the nominees for the 2022 Strand Critics Awards as follows:

Who Is Maud Dixon?, by Alexandra Andrews (Little, Brown)
The Other Black Girl, by Zakiya Dalila Harris (Atria Books)
Bullet Train, by Kotaro Isaka, Translated by Sam Malissa (Harry Abrams)
Lightseekers, by Femi Kayode (Mulholland Books)
Velvet Was the Night, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
All Her Little Secrets, by Wanda M. Morris (William Morrow)

The Dark Hours, by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown)
Razorblade Tears, by S. A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)
The Low Desert, by Tod Goldberg (Counterpoint)
These Toxic Things, by Rachel Howzell Hall (Thomas and Mercer)
Dream Girl, by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)
1979, by Val McDermid (Atlantic Monthly)

Morgan Entrekin, president and publisher of Grove/Atlantic Inc. in New York City.

Sandra Brown
Nelson DeMille

The award winners will be announced in early September. (July 01, 2022)

Ray Celestin Wins Two Daggers

The Crime Writers' Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the winners for the 2022 Dagger Awards as follows:

Gold Dagger: SUNSET SWING, by Ray Celestin (Mantle)
Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: DEAD GROUND, by M.W. Craven (Constable)
John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: THE APPEAL, by Janice Hallett (Viper Books>
Historical Dagger: SUNSET SWING, by Ray Celestin (Mantle)
Translation Dagger: HOTEL CARTAGENA, by Simone Buchholz, trans by Rachel Ward (Orenda Books)
Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction: THE DISAPPEARANCE OF LYDIA HARVEY, by Julia Laite (Profile Books)
Short Story Dagger: "Flesh of a Fancy Woman," by Paul Magrs (in CRIMINAL PURSUITS, Telos Publishing)
Dagger for the Best Crime & Mystery Publisher: Faber & Faber
Debut Dagger: THE 10:12, by Anna Maloney

Diamond Dagger Award Recipient: C.J. Sansom
Red Herring Award Recipient (for services to crime writing and the CWA): In memory of Thalia Proctor

The winners were announced during a "live gala dinner event" held on Wednesday, June 29, at the Leonardo City Hotel in London. (July 01, 2022)