(Opened on January 08, 1996)

Yes, yes, I am still managing The Gumshoe Site as if it were an international treasure. This is my 20th year, can you believe it? As I write on every New Year's Day, I hope you enjoy this site and come back once in a while. Thank you very much for your visit. Take care of your own lives. (January 01, 2016)

Warning to bloggers! -- When you re-use my info, please do not copy-and-paste it word for word, but quote it or paraphrase it, at least. My wording is so awkwardly distinct or so distinctly awkward, I can easily spot copy-and-paste non-artists, and so can smart blog-readers.

William Trevor Dies

BETTER LATE THAN NEVER -- As many of you may know, William Trevor died on November 11 in Somerset, England. The Irish novelist/playwright/short story writer was regarded as one of the greatest writers in the 20th Century and won the Whitbread Prize three times. He wrote a few crime-related novels and short stories such as FELICIA'S JOURNEY (Viking, 1994), DEATH IN SUMMER (Viking, 1998), "Events at Drimaghleen" (anthologized in GREAT IRISH DETECTIVE STORIES, ed. Peter Haining, 1993), and "The Hotel of the Idle Moon" (in MURDER & OTHER ACTS OF LITERATURE, ed. Michele Slung, 1997). He was 88. (December 10, 2016)

David C. Taylor Wins Nero

The Wolfe Pack, a fan organization of Nero Wolfe and his creator Rex Stout, announced on December 03 at the Black Orchid Banquet in New York that David C. Taylor won the 2016 Nero Award for NIGHT LIFE (Forge Books, 2015).

At the same banquet, The Wolfe Pack and Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine (AHMM) jointly announced Steve Liskow won the 2016 Black Orchid Novella Award for "Look Wat They've Done to My Song, Ma." The winning novella will be printed in the July/August 2017 issue of AHMM. (December 06, 2016)

EQMM, AHMM To Go Bimonthly

Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, the two most world-famous mystery magazines (both published by Dell Magazines, a division of Crosstown Publications), have announced that they will publish a total of six double issues per year starting with their January/February 2017 issue. (November 30, 2016)

Al Collins, Ellen Hart Named 2017 MWA Grand Masters

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced the 2017 Grand Master, Raven and Ellery Queen Award Recipients as follows:

Grand Master Awards: Max Allan Collins, and Ellen Hart
Raven Award: Dru Ann Love (owner/editor of dru's book musings)
Ellery Queen Award: Neil Nyren (the Executive VP, associate publisher and editor-in-chief of G.P. Putnam's Sons)

They will receive their awards at the Edgar Awards Banquet to be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on April 27, 2017. (November 30, 2016)

Tim Heald Dies

Tim Heald died on November 20 after a long illness in Somerset, UK. He was a journalist for The Sunday Times, Daily Express, The Daily Telegraph among others and biographer of Prince Philip, Princess Margaret, Barbara Cartland, John Steed (a fictional person in the tv program, "The Avengers") and others. He also wrote mystery novels and stories featuring Simon Bognor, special investigator for the British Board of Trade, who appeared first in UNBECOMING HABITS (Hutchinson, 1973) and nine more novels. Heald also created another series character, Dr. Tudor Cornwall (reader in criminal studies at the University of Wessex in England), introduced in DEATH AND THE VISTING FELLOW (Robert Hale, 2004). After two decades of hiatus, Bognor reappeared in DEATH IN THE OPENING CHAPTER (Severn House, 2011). His last novel is the last Bognor novel, YET ANOTHER DEATH IN VENICE (Severn House, 2014). He was 72. (Nomvember 26, 2016)

Roger Hobbs Dies

Roger Hobbs died on November 14 of a drug overdose in Portland, Oregon. His first novel, GHOSTMAN (Knopf, 2013), introducing a heister known as Jack White, won the 2013 CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger (as the best thriller novel), the 2014 Strand Critics Award (as the best first novel), and the 2015 Maltese Falcon Award from the Japanese Maltese Falcon Society (as the best hardboiled novel), as well as got nominated for the Edgar, Barry, and Anthony Awards. The second Ghostman novel, VANISHING GAMES, was published in 2015 and the third one, CITY OF SIRENS, is to be out in 2017 or 2018. He was 28. (November 17, 2016)

Jean Bowden Dies

Jean Bowden died peacefully on November 04 in London, UK. The former book editor wrote more than 100 novels (ranging from historical to romance to suspence to detective mystery) under 10 different pseudonyms (Jennifer Bland, Avon Curry, Lee Mackenzie, and Barbara Annandale among others) before her retirement on her 90th birthday in 2010. Her first book was non-fiction; GREY TOUCHED WITH SCARLET (1959; reprinted-issued and retitled NURSES AT WAR, 2015) about the true story of the experiences of nurses in the Second World War. As Tessa Barclay, she authored a series about amateur detective Crown Prince Gregory of Hirtenstein, and the last Gregory novel, DIAMONDS IN DISGUISE (Severn 2010), was also her very last novel. She was 96. (November 15, 2016)


(Updated on December 10, 2016)

THE GUMSHOE SITE is designed to offer you mystery-related news. So, if you have some hot news to post, happy and sad, good and bad, exciting and obsecure, useful and secret, please feel free to let me know. [My email address: jkimura (at) nsknet (dot) or (dot) jp]
As you may know by now, this site is managed by Jiro Kimura.

Copyright (c)1996-2016 by Jiro Kimura

There have been visitors to The Gumshoe Site since November 06, 1996. [The previous counter broke down again!! Sorry about that.]